Mini-Bible-Philosophy-Worldview Study (20) Of The Day- On Weakness And Falling To Sin

Craig Hoffman
5 min readNov 24, 2020

--

Photo Courtesy of Daniel Mingook Kim

Verse Of The Day

For they all made us afraid, saying, Their hands shall be weakened from the work, that it be not done. Now therefore, O God, strengthen my hands. (Nehemiah 6:9)

Related Quotes

“Nothing makes it easier to resist temptation than a proper bringing-up, a sound set of values — and witnesses.”- Franklin P. Jones

“Do you really think it is weakness that yields to temptation? I tell you that there are terrible temptations which it requires strength, strength and courage to yield to.”- Oscar Wilde

“Never succumb to the temptation of bitterness.”- Martin Luther King, Jr.

Questions For Discussion

Do you often find yourself hoping that “God isn’t watching” your life actions?

Are you a person who is easily tempted to do “bad” things in your life?

Does it matter if you keep making the same mistakes as long as you “ask for forgiveness”?

Is it unrealistic to expect someone to avoid all temptations in the modern world?

Bonus Verses

Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak. (Matthew 26:41)

Because thou hast kept the word of my patience, I also will keep thee from the hour of temptation, which shall come upon all the world, to try them that dwell upon the earth. (Revelation 3:10)

Moreover as for me, God forbid that I should sin against the LORD in ceasing to pray for you: but I will teach you the good and the right way: [sic] (1 Samuel 12:23)

Commentary- On Life Recharging And Facing Temptation Head On

Craig note- Cell phone batteries die quickly. Your motivation to “be more” in life should not face the same unfortunate fate.

On Old Cell Phone Batteries

I did not buy a cell phone when I came to Japan. I had nobody to call. Every foreigner I knew lived in my apartment building. That worked for about two months. Soon, I was missing out on the spur of the moment events because friends had no way to contact me.

So, I broke down and I bought a cell phone.

These days my cell phone is older, but it works. Well, it does as long as it is plugged in to an outlet. If I use it unplugged, my cell phone will go from 100% to 50% charged in 30 minutes. It’s so bad I carry my charger with me everywhere.

It is getting old like me.

My cell phone company told me I can upgrade my outdated model in six months. It is possible to do it now, but I would incur a substantial monetary fee.

I passed on that.

Now, I am stuck with a cell phone whose battery is as motivated to stay charged as my credit card. By the way, I don’t have a credit card.

But, life will go on even if my cell phone doesn’t.

On Life Recharging

I am a go-getter. There is no particular reason for that to be the case. I have a natural inclination to keep going. In some ways, it is a fantastic character trait to have.

I am never absent.

If I am late, I am likely dead.

And, I have never missed a homework or work deadline in my life.

My determination to succeed is the envy of nearly every student, employee, or person who I have ever met in my life. But, there is a downside to being so OCD about being motivated. My mind constantly thinks about schedules, deadlines, and upcoming events.

It is difficult for me to relax in my free time and even while on vacation. It takes me a good three days of vacation to stop working on stuff and about a week before I quit bringing up work to my poor wife.

She hates when I talk about my company at home.

To my credit, I have become better at putting work down. Writing every day helps me focus on the bigger and more important things and people in my life. To be sure, not everyone is as fortunate. I see writers and content creators struggling for the motivation to write or create. Worse, I see many folks stop writing and creating altogether.

I don’t understand that.

My biggest problem is taking a day off from writing. It is easy to take a break for a day, but I am overwhelmed by guilt when I don’t publish something new. There are no off days in the pursuit of professional writing and social media success.

It is a monumental task to get people to know you exist as a writer or content creator. It can be difficult to push forward when nobody is reading, listening, or engaging your work.

There is nothing worse than putting hours into a piece only to see that four people read it. I suppose on some level that used to bother me. These days I have an audience. So, it is easier to get motivated to create something new when you know people are waiting to read it.

This includes writing larger novels and books like this one. I often post new material I am working on my private social media.

My great friends keep me motivated to produce more content. It drives me to find more inspiration. Still, make no mistake, there are people out there who seek to bring folks with dreams down. That brings down any creative person’s motivation in a heartbeat.

And, that’s a shame.

I am reminded of my grandfather. He has been a pastor for more than 60 years. I remember as a boy going to his church. Some Sundays there were hundreds of people sitting in the pews.

My grandfather gave an amazing sermon.

Other Sundays, especially during summer vacation, saw the faithful in the seats dwindle down to less than ten. One figures my grandfather was disappointed in the turnout as he stood behind his podium ready to speak.

But, he wasn’t.

In fact, some of the best Sunday messages I remember my grandfather giving were heard by only a handful of lucky folks.

My grandfather still gave an amazing sermon.

I recall on occasion he would make an off-hand comment about the small attendance. But, he would say, “We wish more folks were with us this morning. But, we love the ones who are here, and Jesus loves you more.”

That stuck with me.

It keeps me motivated to write. I never get caught up in how many hits, interactions, or downloads I get. I write with the same energy and passion for one reader I do in the hopes of reaching millions.

In the end, I likely will never reach the lofty writing greatness to which I aspire. I know that, and I accept it. And, I push forward towards reaching my dreams.

I seek to write in the faintest of hopes something I put on a page helps lost souls who are in need of a little: “life recharging.”

Grey, Grizzled, and Gaijin

Mini-Bible-Philosophy-Worldview Study (19) Of The Day- On Competing And Staying Humble

--

--

Craig Hoffman

Craig is a #writer, #editor, #betareader & #blogger. 2000+ #blog posts & seven #ebooks including #shortstories “The Tempo of Tempura” and “Carl Crapper.”