Mini-Bible-Philosophy-Worldview Study (9) Of The Day- On Hard Work And Facing A Mundane Life

Craig Hoffman
5 min readNov 19, 2020
Photo Courtesy of Daniel Jensen

Verse Of The Day

And the taskmasters hasted them, saying, Fulfil your works, your daily tasks, as when there was straw. (Exodus 5:13)

Related Quotes

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.”- Thomas A. Edison

“Luck? I don’t know anything about luck. I’ve never banked on it and I’m afraid of people who do. Luck to me is something else: Hard work — and realizing what is opportunity and what isn’t.”- Lucille Ball

“It seems as if an age of genius must be succeeded by an age of endeavour; riot and extravagance by cleanliness and hard work.”- Virginia Woolf

Questions For Discussion

“Just work hard at whatever job you get, and things will work out.” Agree or disagree?

Is there any alternative for an average person to reach success beyond hard work?

If you knew no matter how hard you worked that you would never reach your dreams, would you still work hard? Why or why not?

Bonus Verses

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. (Philippians 4:13)

The hand of the diligent shall bear rule: but the slothful shall be under tribute. (Proverbs 12:24)

I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive. (Acts 20:35)

Commentary- On The 6:18 People And The Every Day Grind Of Life

Craig note- My train pass expired this week. Funny enough, I was here more than ten years before I ever bought one. I was able to walk or ride a bicycle to my company. In fact, this is the first year I have ridden the train every day.

I could simply renew the train pass. But, summer finds me working at different parts of my company. Too, I will be on summer vacation during August. I calculated I won’t ride the train enough to make a full month pass worth it.

So, I didn’t buy one.

It is not a big deal. I can buy a ticket each morning, and I can get a return ticket upon arriving at my workplace train station.

On Trash Days And Early Trains

Yesterday was trash day. I put the garbage out on my way to the train station. I walked a bit faster than usual to avoid roasting in the morning sun. And, I got an earlier train than I normally do.

The 6:18 train.

Now, I have taken later trains to my company. But, this was the earliest I have ever ridden the train for a work day. I had a funny moment of clarity in my expat life.

I realized “The 6:18 People” exist and get on the train for work before I do.

Now, of course, I knew that to be true.

But, I felt out-of-place as I looked for a spot to stand inside the train.

“The 6:29 People” have their areas where they sit or stand each morning.

Me too.

In fact, it is rather disconcerting when someone is standing in my spot. It throws off my morning.

To be sure, it happens on my way back home, but people tend to have different evening schedules. I don’t care too much about where I wait while coming home.

I was standing in the train car, and I looked around at the few folks sitting and standing about the carriage. And, they looked at me. I walked out of the station, and I made my way to my company.

Again, I saw a whole different set of people on the sidewalks and streets.

I avoid the same sleep-deprived commuters every day. But, yesterday, I felt uneasy as even more sleep-deprived and unfamiliar commuters came at me from strange locations and times.

It was tough!

My commute tends to be like playing a video game. You learn the patterns, and you get to work without any thought at all. The only trouble I have is when someone or something “new” comes into the game on any given morning.

Finally, I arrived at my company, and I wondered if “The 6:29 People” missed me.

I suspect not.

By chance, today, I rode the 6:18 train again. Alas, the “new” feeling of the moment had passed. And, I walked to my company as I always do with “The 6:29 People.” Well, that is minus encountering the jerk who runs me over at the ticket gate most mornings at 6:35.

Seriously, I hate that guy.

On A Mundane Life

But, it also was a reminder of how much I use OCD-like patterns to keep my life running smoothly. Recently, I have questioned if such an affinity for rigid daily life structure is healthy for me.

It is nice to have a life that runs smoothly.

But, I realize slowly some of the thrill that comes from uncertainty while living in a foreign country is gone.

I miss my early days living in Japan.

Every day was a new challenge. It was nice to see or do something different here. There were always things I did not understand and a huge, huge, huge language barrier. I often did things just to be spontaneous. But, those days are gone.

I can tell you my daily schedule for the next three months, and it looks exactly like it did last year and the five years before that.

Some of that is bound to happen after living here for a long time and working for a Japanese company. Trust me, my company never changes.

That is both good and bad.

Too, I am a married man with responsibilities. I cannot be some emotion-filled yo-yo husband for my wife. Yet, I think a little more daily adventure might be nice.

But.

In the end, I suppose a roller coaster existence in Japan would not be fun. People depend on me to be stable. It would be difficult to be that way if my life was full of chaos and strife.

Thankfully, it is not.

Drama is not something I let into my personal life (or social media). That makes my day rather boring at times.

And, I’m okay with that.

Still, moving forward, I am going to do a few more spur of the moment things in my life. And, I think I will drop in now and again on: “the 6:18 people.”

Grey, Grizzled, and Gaijin

Mini-Bible-Philosophy-Worldview Study (8) Of The Day- On Dealing With Failure

--

--

Craig Hoffman

Craig is a #writer, #editor, #betareader & #blogger. 2000+ #blog posts & seven #ebooks including #shortstories “The Tempo of Tempura” and “Carl Crapper.”